Switch to an accessible version of this website which is easier to read. (requires cookies)

Lib Dems Storm to Success in Bristol

June 5, 2009 6:16 PM

June 4 2009, Bristol City Council ResultStephen Williams, MP for Bristol West, is exceptionally pleased that the Liberal Democrats have taken overall control of Bristol City Council after winning four more seats.

Stephen Williams MP said, "I'm delighted by the results which reward years of hard work across the city by my party. I will do whatever I can to help my colleagues on the Council to transform Bristol. There is lots to do, but we are all up for the challenge."

Labour have been humiliated by a terrible defeat and have sunk to third place behind the Conservatives. Stephen said, "This is an amazing turnaround in political fortunes. When I was the youngest city councillor in the mid 1990s I led a Lib Dem group that grew from 9 to 13 councillors - but we faced more than 50 Labour councillors across the chamber. Now Labour are the third party in Bristol and I'm particularly pleased by the scale of the Labour defeat within the new constituency boundary of Bristol West."

The Liberal Democrats won eight of the nine council wards that make up the new Bristol West seat. Ashley was held by Cllr Dr Jon Rogers with a big increase in his majority. Bishopston was held by Cllr Bev Knott, again by a large margin. Cllr Dr Mark Wright held Cabot, and Cllr Simon Cook held Clifton East, comfortably defeating the Conservatives.

New Lib Dem councillors were elected in four wards Trevor Blythe held Clifton after the retirement of Brian Price who served for 15 years. Anthony Negus succeeded Roger McDermott in Cotham and Fi Hance succeeded Jim White in Redland. John Kiely returned to represent Easton after a two year absence from the Council. The Lib Dems narrowly failed to gain Lawrence Hill with Rae Gingell falling short by just 9 votes.

Full results can be viewed at